RogMull

By RogMull

Ayrshire College #MYBOB2014

Believe it or not, this is actually an illuminated sign on the building of Ayrshire College Campus in AYR. It was dark as I arrived for dinner with over 100 employers from Ayrshire. I really like the logo for the new college (designed and chosen by students), although my photo doesn't quite do full justice to it.

The dinner was aimed at further enhancing joint working between employers and the college, with the aim of creating more work and training opportunities for the young people of Ayrshire. The event even had its own hashtag for those wishing to tweet during the event.

At my table I had, amongst others, the Chief Executive of STV, a Director of Prestwick International Airport and two Provosts, including Joan Sturgeon, mother of the Deputy First Minister. Indeed, during the evening Joan reminded me I had gone to school in Maybole at around the same time as her husband.

The evening was quite outstanding, and the Principal Heather Dunk managed to get a range of new commitments from employers.

Guest speaker for the evening was the Minister for Youth Employment, Angela Constance MSP. Angela is very engaging and down to earth, and her speech was well received. She is hugely committed to addressing the needs of young people, through vocational education.

A great event which I thoroughly enjoyed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.