Andrew's Random Photos

By andrewhiggins

Lo tech toy

Sam is a young man who, like all kids these days, is utterly at home with technology. An iPad to him is just an everyday thing, not a 'new' thing that it is to grey haired blokes like me. But today the boy was utterly entranced by an 'old fashioned' manual mixer we found at a retro chic home shop, all metal and gear wheels, and a satisfying sound like a bicycle derailleur gear set. This old technology was so simple, yet so much fun for Sam. For me though, it took me right back to when I used to help my Mum make cakes by whisking the sponge mixture until my arms ached, all for the treat of a bit of the delicious gloop left over in the bowl.
Sam is keen to make cakes too. I warned him about the pain. He can't wait...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.