fleeting visions

By eyeGillian

Winter fantasy

The snow brings a certain kind of quietness with it; there seems to be not only a dampening of sound, but also of sight. Lines become indistinct, colours fade, telephone poles & trees are obscured by a blur of whirling white.

It was a good day to be indoors. I made a big pot of chicken stock, and then chicken soup with apples & cabbage & sausage & potatoes for supper. Occasionally - mesmerized by the falling snow - I picked up my camera and tried to capture the snowflakes in flight, searching for (and not quite finding) the right focal distance between house and trees.

Although it has been falling all day here, the snow has been light; the bulk of the snow is falling to the south of us as the storm follows the eastern seaboard and continues out to sea. Tomorrow I am driving my parents to Bangor - hopefully the roads will be clear by then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.