fleeting visions

By eyeGillian

Wild lands

We drove into the wild today. I picked up my parents at 8 am and we headed to Bangor, Maine, usually a 3-hour drive. We did it in 4 hours, as the roads were snow-packed and I was gripping the wheel a little tighter than usual. As we got closer to our destination, it was evident that the plows had been out with salt, and we began to see bare roads. Despite the less-than-perfect driving conditions, the weather was glorious - bright sun bouncing off the new-fallen snow, and not even a breeze to disturb the beautifully decorated trees and hillsides.

The sun & salt did their work; by the time we returned along the route in late afternoon, the roads were beautifully clear and the trip took only 3 hours. And - bonus - we saw the most gorgeous sunset ever. But the only photos I have are in my head; you will have to imagine it.

I did stop for one photo, though, at my favourite lookout spot along the route. For comparison, check out the same view last spring: West Branch Union River

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.