intothehills

By intothehills

New Job

Today was my first meeting for my new (2 days a week) job. I'm now the Development Officer for the Association of Bouldering & Climbing Walls, or the ABC.
I'm in the fortunate position of not yet needing to return to work, but when I saw the position advertised it nipped at my curiosity and I'm really pleased I went along as it turns out the role could have been made for me. I met the management committee today & they're all (as you'd expect) enthusiastic, driven and 'my kind of' people.
Climbing Walls are a thing pretty much of my generation and as they mature its great to be able to bring not just my love of climbing but also my business skills to use in helping them bring future generations of climbers into our sport/hobby/ way of life. The BMC have some archaic figures about the number of young people who start climbing this way - I suspect (& hope to soon prove) that indoor walls are now the primary input into climbing.
The picture was taken at the new Awesome Walls venue in Sheffield (the spiritual home city of British climbing now has 5 world class walls). Due to the buildings layout & magnesium lights it really was impossible for a photographer of my limited ability to do it justice, but as a climber, wow.
Excited

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.