In the wars

I’ve been in a fight today. And Ann says it’s my own fault, even though I came off worse.............

This is what happened...............................

I went to the beach this afternoon and was having a lovely time playing with my yellow bouncy ball when I spotted a golden retriever playing on some high up rocks. Well, I thought it might be Ozzy, my gorgeous golden retriever boyfriend, so I went zooming off to see him.

Turned out it wasn’t Ozzy, but another golden retriever called Poppy. Poppy was being a little bit naughty. She’d dropped her ball into a rock pool and wouldn’t bring it back to her owner so Ann said, ‘Molly go find the ball’.

I bounded up the high rocks, jumped into the rock pool, retrieved the ball and brought it straight back to Poppy’s owner. Ann was very proud of me and Poppy’s owner thought I was a very clever collie.

If only I’d left it at that..............................

Well, I decided that I liked Poppy’s ball better than my own so both of us had a little play with each other’s balls. Though Poppy did Ozzy’s trick of lying down with the ball and trying to chew it up. I’m not really quite sure what happened next. I had Poppy’s ball when all of a sudden we were in the middle of a fight and Poppy had me pinned to the ground. I was squealing and trying to fight back but Poppy was much bigger than me and I couldn’t escape.

Eventually After about half a minute, Poppy’s owner managed to get hold of Poppy and put her back on her lead. I didn’t need to go on my lead because I was in ‘subdued mode’ right next to Ann. And then Ann noticed I had blood dripping down my neck.

Poppy’s owner was ever so nice. She gave Ann her name and phone number and said she’d pay for any vet bills. But Ann said that wouldn’t be necessary because actually, it wasn’t really Poppy’s fault. Ann doesn’t know which of us started the fight but the only reason I came off worse was because I was the smallest. And she says if I’d just left Poppy to play with her own ball after I’d retrieved it from the rock pool none of this would have happened.

Anyway, it turned out that I had a little puncture wound in my neck and a little puncture wound in my ear. My ear was ever so painful. I wouldn’t let Ann touch it and normally I let her touch any part of my body.

When I got home Ann put me in the bath and showered me with luke warm water because she was worried that sand would get into the wounds. But my neck was still bleeding a little bit and my ear was really, really sore. I never, ever, cry because I’m a very brave little collie, so Ann didn’t really know how much pain I was in. So she phoned the vet to see what she should do.

It was almost 5pm but fortunately the vet said they would stay open till we got there. The vet gave me two injections; an antibiotic one and a pain killer one and I’ve also got to take antibiotic tablets for the next three days.

....................And that’s been our excitement for today. I’ve gobbled up my dinner because I got some tasty treats in with it because Ann felt sorry for me and now I’m resting in my bed.

....................And the wind and rain are battering on the windows again!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.