Monkeys galore on Nevis

Within minutes of walking along Oualie beach, on the tiny remote island of Nevis – (we got there by boat in order to avoid the crowds on St Kitts) I spotted this vervet monkey in the remains of what used to be the rainforest.

Locals regard them as a pest- they outnumber humans by two to one- because they raid fruit and vegetable crops and destroy bird’s nests.

They were brought over by French settlers from Africa and they have flourished ever since on St Kitts and Nevis.

Of all the islands I have visited so far I think this must be top of my list. Its still undeveloped and very much a working island and not dependent on the tourist trade.

Cruise news
Out of 1,500 passengers on board I found myself last night sitting next to a guy at dinner who works two miles down the road from my home in Scotland!

Another couple at our table had been on holiday to Vancouver and were surprised on arrival to find the hotel had upgraded them to the most expensive suite in the building.

Their names are Cambridge and the hotel thought they were the young Royals travelling incognito.
True he did look a bit like Prince William.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.