horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Detached...

I'm determined to blip every day this month. I've not managed that since I joined Blipfoto, but this new found motivation is driving me at the mo. Playing snooker later tonight with Mel's dad, so no real time for blipping later. Hence this... Oddness.

Feeling under a wee bit of pressure at the mo with everything going on this week, as I mentioned yesterday. But it's reasonably under control, and will be more so if I pull a late one tonight after a couple of hours on the baize. Tomorrow am is a trip to the dentist for the second part, the shorter part, of the root canal treatment. Last week the mere thought was filling me with dread, but at the moment I'm feeling okay.

Then it's pub quiz in the evening with food beforehand for a friend's birthday, Thursday night sees the new issue of the site online, which leaves Friday to relax before a weekend in Newcastle with another friend to go to the match against Peterborough.

But don't stop the world, I don't want to get off just yet.

I'll manage it all.

Maybe.

Anyway, lovely ride to work in the rain this morning. There is no sarcasm in that statement. Trust me. I mean it when I say I like riding to work (and home) in this kind of weather. The roads are quieter of bikes, but heavier of cars, but the time I take doesn't change at all. And while everyone in their car is looking at me thinking 'Poor bugger' (or more likely 'Bloody cyclist, I hate him' in a moment of transportation xenophobia) I love feeling the changing of the guard between seasons.

And then I get to work, and I change into perfectly dry clothes, and feel as comfortable as can be. The coffee tastes so much better than normal. And I'm getting to enjoy it all after a journey half the length of time undertaken by car. Taking four wheels I arrive grumpy with the traffic and breakfast radio, I've had 40 minutes to get uncomfortable in my suit in the driver's seat, and the coffee just tastes like coffee.

Think about how good a drink is when you've been gasping for an hour; or how good a full plate of food is when you hadn't managed to stop for lunch. Everything is intensified. And that's what it feels like when you change out of your cold and wet cycling gear at work or at home. Weather like this ensures that the relaxed outlook engendered by riding to work carries on longer than on a normal day. And that's why I like riding in it. That's why you'll see a smile on my face as I'm stopped at the traffic lights watching the rain hammer down.

Travelling is not, should not be, just getting from A to B.

Oh, and some final words from Joss Whedon, who is quoted on the calendar I have here that was turned over to November 2 days ago (funny that), "Remember to always be yourself. Unless you suck."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.