Best Voice in Nature

I heard that it was going to be a so-so day...weather-wise, so...at about 10 a.m., I set out for Sarasota, Florida.

First stop...The Ringling Museum of Art. $25.oo to get in, and...no pictures inside. (What do they think I'm going to do...master-mind a heist?) I decided that if I ever do go in...I'll wait and go with my wife. 25 DOLLARS! That would buy a lot of peanuts for the elephants. (Mr. Ringling was big in the circus industry.)

Next stop...Sarasota city boat ramp. Free. I can usually count on some hard working pelicans here...not the kind that beg for handouts from fish-cleaning sportsmen. Hovering. Diving. Working their gullet. Big-winged takeoffs.

I finished up at a nature preserve called The Celery Fields. Again...free. Supposedly, 210 species of bird have been spotted here. I
did see quite a few birds, but they were WAY too far off for me to shoot.

The only exception were these 2 cranes. I think I could have dug up a few grubs, and fed them by hand. I tried not to push my limits, but they were pretty close.

Oh...how I love to hear them squawk.

CLICK HERE to see my other shots of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.