KatGirl

By katgirl

Terror on 8A

Poor Cleo. We had had such a nice hike. She went along willingly. She was less frightened of hikers & even sought out attention from some joggers as they passed. We were about 1/3 of the way back when we came up to big German Shepherd wearing a prong choke chain collar. The owner said he was friendly but liked to lunge and bark in a way that scared some dogs, so she would keep the dog off to the side. The dog did indeed make a vicious looking and sounding lunge. But he was at least 10 feet away and the owner had control over him. But Cleo was petrified. So petrified that she took off, giving me a rope burn through my glove as I held the leash. She used every bit of her strength to power herself back to the car. The problem is that the trail is rocky and I cannot walk as fast as she wanted to go. I was worried about me falling as she was tearing down hill. But I was more worried about the pressure on her trachea (windpipe) as as pulled on the leash so mightily. I tried to calm her with Treats, other friendly dogs, hugs and calming words to no avail. She did not stop shaking and lift the tail from between her legs until she got into her soft kennel in the car. She was fine by the time we got home. I think next time that happens, I am going to sit her down (away from the scary dog) and calm her down before we continue hiking. What we did today was dangerous for both of us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.