Pink for Passion?

Weather-wise today was a washout for holiday-makers in the camp here at Kaiteriteri. It started off with a minimal amount of sunshine then clouded over from the north. I managed to get do my 8 km walk up the back road to the Kaiteriteri Forest sign and back. That is a regular walk for many folk here. I have been walking that road for many many years now. Once upon a time I used to run the distance when I was training for half-marathons and full marathons. That was back in the days when most of the road was shingle and extremely rough to run on and very dusty. It is all nicely sealed these days and just as popular for runners and cyclists.
The rain started falling in big fat drops just as I got back to the camp. And it has rained heavily on and off all day.
Keith has arrived from Blenheim for the weekend. He will help me pack up all our gear for when I vacate the caravan this coming Monday. I don’t know where all the days have gone to!
On my way back down the last hill on my walk I spotted some Banana Passion Fruit vines growing up in some native trees. This vine is a very invasive weed, originally a garden escape, and once it gets a hold it can all but strangle the trees it is climbing over. However the yellow vaguely banana-shaped fruit is quite tasty. The pink flowers are very pretty as can be seen in today’s image. One flower growing high up in the trees.... there especially for me to blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.