Contrasts

After and extremely wet day yesterday with torrential rain falling through the night we have enjoyed hot weather, cloudless skies and brilliant sunshine all day…. There is some rain falling again as I type at 10.pm. But I suspect that is just from clouds that sometimes gather over the hills to the north-west of the camp.
Anyway the hot weather gave folk in the camp a chance to dry out tents and gear. I even did a load of washing and got it bone dry.
I went down to the beach late in the afternoon at high tide. It was magical lying on the warm sand reading a good book on my Kindle. People watching figured on my agenda too. That is a fun activity.
There was an enormous man lying sunbathing near me. He was wearing the tiniest of bikini style swimming trunks and had his head covered with a straw hat. His tan was impressive to say the least.
I befriended a young German couple who, in contrast to the tanned man, were quite skinny and had lily-white skins. They asked me to photograph them….which I did, and then captured an image with my camera. We were trying hard not to laugh but you can see that the tanned man knew what we were up to as he was lifting his head and hat to see the couple posing for the camera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.