Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

G is for ... Water Drops in the Green

I left the water drop challenge in Bobsbitz59's Technique Challenge to the last day of the first week as I knew it needed daylight, time and patience - something in short supply with my current workload. Accordingly, I grabbed some plastic bowls from the local supermarket at lunchtime, and headed home early. In keeping with DDW's February 2014 Alphabet Challenge, one had to be green!

My plans were twarted early on when my remote trigger refused to work. A new battery and some graffer tape later, I finally got it working, set up and ready to go. As well as the green bowl, I used an off camera flash. For the droplets I used a craft syringe, which looks like a minature meat baster, held over the dish and squeezed - my arm was resting on an old tripod for stability.

Now the patience bit: some 200 odd shots later I lost the daylight, and as I don't have any studio lighting, that had to be it. In the event I got maybe half-a-dozen of so reasonable shots - of which I liked this one the best.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.