IntothewildMan

By IntothewildMan

Oak Man

Norfolk lanes are lined with curious stunted and gnarled oaks which have stood for centuries withstanding the weather and the chill winter winds which blow in from Siberia. Many of them have very distinct personalities.
This one for example stands in the lane just beyond our neighbour's farm. It has evidently been imbued with the spirit of an overbearing or very nosy man, or even possibly some kind of ogre. This calls to mind Flann O'Brien's book. "The Third Policeman" which, were I ever marooned on a desert island, I would read again. I might anyway, even if I am not. In this excellent book the reader is introduced to a bogus philosopher who theorises that as the local policeman rides his bicycle, he exchanges atoms and molecules from his own body with the bicycle itself. Gradually the bicycle begins in his opinion to acquire human characteristics. He points out that on a chilly night the bicycle, when nobody is watching, appears to have crept closer to the fire and observes that "I have often noticed crumbs near the front wheel of these gentlemen."
I wonder what this oak tree gets up to when nobody is around.

By the way, for anyone who may be interested, I have just backblipped yesterday's offering. Buy One, Get One Free.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.