paulcoates95

By paulcoates95

Sent to script

After a year and four months, Fox have finally sent me to script. Despite being severely jet lagged, I began Ludlow House today. A US pilot set in London about two estranged sisters and a very fashionable members club in So-Ho.

Tweak this, explain this, add that, take it away again, we need a sense of, we don't like this (even though it probably won't be there) more laughs, more more. That's what writing treatments is like. Like being forced to explain a magic trick when every morsel of your being simple wants to dazzle them with illusion. I go through this process for two reasons; it's the way of things - but more importantly, because eventually I might get sent to script.

Today was that day, and any day when a writer begins his first draft, his first markings on a blank page, is a damn fine day.

These past six weeks away from my desk I have been father, husband, friend, guest, traveller, reader, driver.

Today I am writer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.