paulcoates95

By paulcoates95

Mid 40's teenager

Over 16 years ago, I grew a beard that pretty much stayed with me through out. (a brief handle bar moustache period aside). It gave me a gravitas (in my mind) that I liked. A maturity. As I career towards 44, that beard which aged me in my 30's has made me look prematurely 50. This is a decade of holding onto what little youth we may have, and my babyish dimple is something worth bringing out to play.

A healthy holiday tan, some good hard miles of running, losing some weight and shedding my beard I believe has brought back a bit of youth.

Driving home from seeing my family in Doncaster, I caught myself in the rear view. A quiff, national healthy glasses, clean shaven - I realised I'm sporting the same look I used to have as a sixteen year old Smiths Fan. And I quite liked it. I'm not the boy I was, but I'll go with that look for a bit longer until I get bored.

I realise this is likely to be one of the vainest entries in this journal, but hey ho.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.