Emma D's diary

By EmmaDrabble

At Foy: River running high.....

A beautiful day. Almost as if somewhere the picture of spring was being slowly painted. A scatter of snowdrops here and there. The bolt upright shoots of daffodils, pencil line the banks and verges. I notice these things briefly, as I do my log round. A drip of water falls from a high up drain pipe and into a low water butt. The splash is backlit by a late winter morning sun. Its a hugh splash from such a small drip, I think. There is another, and another. A reminder.

In Hoarwithy, (I took some flood pictures HERE 2 weeks ago). I feel shocked, as I deliver wood to a family with a river running through their house. "What can we do?" they say. They have a resolute Britishness. A sit it out and make do mentality.

Quietly, the water is very much here, even sunny day. It decreases ever so slightly. I drop by Foy after work, to check the progress of the flood water, from Foy Bridge. The footbridge rumbles with the tug of the volume of water running under its arches. I hold on, and wonder how many times its felt this mighty tug of current before. The river still lapping over farm land.

The sun, a brief moment of hope. Its raining hard as I write. I hope that family are bearing up ok.......x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.