Tech Marketing Guy

By tmg

Forgotten

This image is particularly strange. Today, I journeyed to a new abandoned location and as I explored the dilaptidated building I found these.

This postcard is postmarked from 1969 and is a letter from a grown up child to her parents. The cool thing is that you can read the post card in large view. It is weird to imagine that this has been sitting here for 40 years and is still in such good shape. (Remember, I live in New England where long, cold and snowy winters are the norm.) Also note that this is addressed to someone in Virginia and yet I live in Massachusetts which is about 450 miles (~725 km) away. I wonder why the person brought this postcard to MA and then abandoned it?

The second item is a picture of someone's loved ones. I could easily imagine this as a picture of the house's owner or perhaps the owner's parents. Once again, it was in perfect shape especially for something this old.

The combination of these two items is strange. I believe that someone somewhere must care about them, but they lay abandoned. Why? Could it have been that the previous owner died suddenly? Perhaps he/she did not care about them? Was there something nefarious here? I really have no idea, but my mind goes wild with conspiracy theories.


Post processing:
Reduced saturation and tweaked contrast in DPP

Constructive criticism always welcome

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.