M9

By M9

SUCCESS!

A little excitement for ‘Squirrel Blip Friday’ - For the first time, a squirrel took a peanut from my fingers! I couldn’t believe it! I’ve spent most of the winter gaining their trust, tossing them peanuts, drawing them closer and closer. I finally realized I had to crouch down so I didn’t appear so huge, then I set my hand down on the deck with a peanut on it. Only two would even dare to come close, and until today, they would almost dare to grab one – then oops, nope, not just yet. Then finally, ‘success’ today.

Just the very second he took the peanut from my fingers, the thought crossed my mind, “What if he bites my finger instead?” (A bit too late to be worried about that!) Lucky for me, all I felt were his soft whiskers brushing my hand. (This picture is just before the ‘up-close-and personal’ event happened – this peanut is just a couple inches from my hand.) His snowy face is from burrowing into the snow looking for seeds & nuts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.