Cig a Cigaaaaarrr

With apologies to the Spice Girls

This did not turn out as planned because..

a) I don't have mad long hair
b) I am not a photoshop expert
c) I could not be arsed to spend any more time on it

The face that is blowing smoke was supposed to be smaller and more integrated into the back of my head.. Alas it is well beyond me at the moment.

I don't smoke so this was nearly called 'feeling just a bit dizzy!'.

The more exciting news is that the storms that were promised by those weather people did not happen and so our flood defences were not tested. After I blipped yesterday Darren and I built a wall of sandbags over the back door (the 4 metre wide back doors, I felt like emperor Hadrian when we had finished) the bags were filled by Paul (H's dad) H and I with sand that Pete brought over. I said it was a team effort. We had so much help, and so many offers of help, and texts and calls wishing us well. It really is humbling, we have a very excellent group of friends and this is a particularly smashing village. So thanks everyone it really is appreciated.

In spite of the annoyances yesterday we managed to get out last night for Curry with Pete, Julia, Darren and Sarah, and all of the children. It was lovely to get away from it for a bit although we did not stay late as we were all utterly knackered.

Today has been spent clearing up, the Chickens got a bit of a soaking so needed sorting out. We have put their house on bricks yesterday which meant that they were ok, but the big garden box thing we store all the food and bedding god a soaking so that needed sorting. As yesterday Julia, Sarah and H moved a load of stuff upstairs or onto high shelves the house looks remarkable tidy ;) Although I've had a bit of trouble finding some stuff!

More rain is forecast for next week so we've left the floor defences up, and we'll sort the garden out properly in a few weekends when it is not quite so moist.

Right time for Steak!

Cheers

D

large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.