Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Ideal hand warmer

Enjoyed my porridge this morning, having only sipped sensibly on a small glass of wine last night.

You know you’re getting old when the topic of conversation with visitors is comparing medications - I’ve definitely got the biggest pills! A&B then headed off across town to stay with their nephew and his family - it’s great they can kill two birds with one stone on their Edinburgh visits. B was going to the rugby match this afternoon.

We headed off across the Meadows to the Travel Agent with a holiday idea we’ve been mulling over for ages ... JR went back to get the umbrella, and I said I’d be in the Meadows, near any activity, taking photos. I kept an eye out for her, and kept looking around as the time went on. I realised what I felt like, or felt I must have looked like, had anyone been watching - a meerkat! I’d stop taking photos and peer around in all directions (‘cept not up).

Spent a fun hour in the Travel Agents. We went in, and they had the radio blasting out as usual. I pointed to it, put on a grumpy face (they're used to me doing this) and the manager immediately said, ‘Oh, sorry!’ and rushed to switch it off! I wish I had that reaction everywhere I went.

Our holiday dates fitted in, and it’s all booked. With even a Business Class flight being cheaper than Economy! We’ll be able to use the Business Class Lounge at Edinburgh Airport before we leave - though it just works out to be pretty expensive nuts. We’re very very excited, but will keep you in suspenders for a while yet.

I then came back to watch the afternoon rugby. Luckily the Chimney Cake cabin was open and steaming! So I had to stop. Two folk were already eating one, and talking to Peter in Hungarian. I had a chat to them (in English). They love having this to remind them of home. So I got my cake, steaming in a bag, and it kept my hands warm as I walked home, eating it.

But what was this I saw? People with sticks charging around with them between their legs, running in all directions with several balls. Though not a Harry Potter fan, I thought it was Quidditch, but asked just to make sure. It was crazy - no discernible rules, people running all over the place. Lots of shouting from the sidelines ‘Get the giant!’ and ‘He’s not a giant, he’s just a large man!’ What fun it was!

B will be pleased with the Murrayfield result. I’m not. But well done Ireland!

PS enjoyed all the skeleton related comments yesterday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.