Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Look mum- No Hands!

Popped round to the skate park this morning hoping to see a bit of action. There were four young kids with scooters, three boys and a girl, fiddling around doing nothing much. I considered not bothering, but then I went and talked to them.

‘Could I take some photos? I’ve just got a new camera’ etc. They were delighted to oblige and advised where I should stand to get the best shot.

They then decided on another bit and pointed across the park.
How do I get over there?’

Turns out, I had to run down one slope (you can see how steep they are!) with enough steam to run up the next slope, or stay down there. Forever. I looked doubtful.

The girl in the group immediately put down her scooter and said, ‘I’ll help you’ and took my hand and we skidded and shuffled down the slope and managed to get up the other side, with her pulling me (not much, actually, but I let her think that she was essential to my success).

They did another few moves, taking it in turns to whizz by me. Occasionally I’d hear a crash behind me as someone bit the dust concrete, but I couldn’t look round as the next one was coming.

They wanted to get more and more daring, but I didn’t want to be the cause of any accidents. The girl then said she’d do her ‘No Hands’ jump. She did a jump but the boys claimed she hadn’t let go of the handles. When we looked back at the shots, sure enough - she had.

Well done that girl! So she has to be my blip of the day. You can see the muddy jeans from the crash she’d had just before this. We all had fun.

Back home, rugby this afternoon (bound to be a better game than yesterday’s muddy mess) and maybe a few episodes of ‘House of Cards’ on Netflix.

Did I mention that we’ve booked the next holiday? Very very exciting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.