Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

All in the line of duty

A visit to the Commonweath Pool this morning, but I kept all my clothes on. It was full of children, and the 50 metre pool was now two 25 metre pools, and one of the pools was only 1 metre deep. They can move the floor up and down! What a grand place for the whole family. And there were hundreds of them there, enjoying the facilities.

We sat and watched a while, making critical comments on swimming styles, offering our considered opinions as to what they were doing wrong. We sounded like proper experts. *Ahem*

The diving pool provided some entertainment too, with one chap who kept trying, but always changed his mind half way down and ended up belly flopping. He then went to the higher board, crossed himself and just sort of fell in, but accidentally did it nearly properly. The attendants nearby clapped.

We went to a nearby pub that has been refurbished. I last went there many years ago, and it obviously didn't impress as I didn't go back.

However, I can really recommend it. It's done up really well, with a bar area and a restaurant area with a big fire in the middle. We had really nice meals. I had fish and chips (can never resist them) and JR had slow cooked lamb, and it looked like a whole leg.

On the dessert menu there were several treats, but we I decided to have the 'Sharing Plate' with a selection of desserts, as I thought it would make a good blip. And as it's the only photo I took today, it's IT.

Left to right:

Rhubarb crumble and custard, treacle pie with lemon curd, chocolate brownie and vanilla ice cream, creme brulee with poached pears on top. Phew! We had a brisk walk home to slightly make up for it.

The things I do for blip!

Just had a rather pleasant 80 minutes watching the Scotland rugby team scoring tries and running! My cup overflow-eth.

London Town tomorrow! Exciting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.