Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Ten hours on a bus

Spent the day on a bus. My bum is numb! The 7 hours I remembered fondly a few years ago has turned into 10 hours! We had the first 3 hours jaunting round towns - Berwick, Alnwick, Morpeth, Newcastle, to pick up non existent passengers. What a waste of time.

Coming down the motorway, the rain started, but I liked the way the lights exploded like fireworks on the bit of the window where the wipers hadn't reached. That kept me occupied for a while.

Eventually found the hotel. Walked past it in the sleet. Got in and gave my name. He looked serious, and consulted his computer. Don't you just hate that...

'When did you book?'
'Ages ago.'
'How did you book it?'
'Internet.'
I handed him the booking form I'd printed out.
'We don't book through Last Minute.com!'

Panic stations!

However, it had been booked in JR's name. Phew!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.