Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Eddie for PM!

Rang Scottish Power, for it is they who are giving me much grief with my requests for an initial boiler inspection in the new abode. I have a list of people I have spoken to, and dates, all of whom assured me they’d ‘look into it’ and all have tossed me aside as soon as the phone was put down. I was told I had to wait till the first Direct Debit came out before I could have my boiler inspected. The Direct Debit came out on the 11th January, the second one due tomorrow.

Twice I got, ‘The other person has cleared…’ and when I eventually got through, I heard a cheerful, ‘We are experiencing a high volume of calls. The hold time is between 3 hours 23 minutes and 5 hours 37 minutes’.

A strong coffee and a few household chores later, I girded my loins and phoned Customer Services instead of Home Comfort. This time I got Eddie. Eddie Williamson. He assured me he’d look into it. I told him I’d heard that story many times before. He did ring back within minutes, saying there was ‘no such account number’. Odd. I’m getting electricity and gas, and they’re taking my money, so I must have an account. He said he’d do a bit of detective work. ‘Good on you Eddie. Because I’m getting a bit pi**ed off’.

3:30pm - Eddie rang back! He had tried ringing the Home Comfort Team and got the same wait time! They don’t have a direct number, they have to wait in line too. What an operation!! He has rung Head Office to solve the puzzle of the ‘non account’, and he assured me he’d ring within a couple of days to arrange a boiler check.

Good on you Eddie! At last! Someone in Customer Services in Scottish Power who cares about Customer Service.

Indoor blip as I was trapped inside waiting for the return call, which did come. Spot the real tulips. Or is that too easy?

Been watching Winter Olympics. That Luge is crazy!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.