Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Zoo Day (No 3)

OK. OK. I cheated. I released Mrs Pygmy Hippo from her pen in Edinburgh Zoo back into the wild in Tanzania. Actually, she wouldn’t stand a chance there - those aren’t pygmy hippos in the background… and she doesn’t come from that area. Also, there was a really really revoltingly poo splattered wall just behind her, which had to be disguised/removed. The pen was being washed.

I bought Topaz ReMask a while ago, and haven’t really spent any time getting to know it, but it’s fun! The possibilities are endless.

After my timepiece malfunction last week, I made sure I was at the right place at the right time today. We had a long chat this morning about the giraffe being killed in Copenhagen Zoo, and the lions being killed at Longleat. This goes on all the time, of course, it’s just that Copenhagen Zoo made it public. Apparently his sub species (reticulate) is not endangered so he was not needed for breeding, even at another zoo. Any decision to euthanize animals is not taken lightly.

From there we had a wander round the Zoo with the charming and very enthusiastic Ruth. She was full of interesting facts. Everywhere we went, and she tried to talk to the group, the bloke with the microphone and speakers all around the zoo would boom out, announcing things.

We went into the rhino enclosure. I haven’t been in there since the 60s when it was a giraffe enclosure. I remember watching my wee brother’s eyes going UP and UP and UP! when he first saw this strange creature. I’m pleased that Edinburgh Zoo no longer keep giraffes and elephants, because they need huge areas of flat land (the zoo is on a steep hill) and they like to live in big herds.

The two young male rhinos are ‘on loan’ and when they’re mature, they will probably go to another zoo in Europe for breeding purposes. All animal births and deaths are logged throughout Europe, and so can be moved around and breeding monitored.

We went to check on the penguins, excitement rising with the breeding season approaching. I learned about Nils Olav - sorry - Colonel-in-Chief Sir Nils Olav, who is the mascot of the Norwegian Army. He was awarded his knighthood in 2008. I think I did know about this before, but had forgotten. We saw Sir Nils standing to attention in the corner. He wears a Norwegian Army Badge.

I see my favourite TV programme returns tonight. Yipee! It’s the funniest programme ever (IMHO) - a big hit in America. And so of course, it’s put on late at night here! Don’t miss Parks and Recreation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.