Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Worth waiting for

There are three flats above us. One or more person in one or more of the flats is a smoker. Smokers hang out windows. Smokers then chuck their fag end out of said windows. Trouble is, they land at my kitchen door and my front door…

What to do about this?

a). Ignore it and sweep up, whistling cheerfully.
b). Post a polite note into each flat explaining the problem and asking them to show some consideration.
c). Go to each flat personally explaining the problem and asking them to show some consideration.
d). Go and bang on each door wait till someone opens it, and yell at them (while waving a fist and maybe my poker) to stop their disgusting habits - they probably drop litter too - and tell them I’ll get my big brother round if it happens again.

I favour the last option, but will probably continue with the first one. Without the whistling.

At last the kitchen dresser arrived. We ordered it as soon as we moved in and realised that the dresser that was there was not part of the kitchen furniture…

We were told the waiting time was 5-6 weeks. It turned out to be over three months. We thought about cancelling it after the last delay a month or so ago, but on enquiring about another dresser in another furniture shop, we were told the delivery time was 5-6 weeks. I think this is furniture delivery-speak for ‘whenever’.

However, today was the day. It fits in there rather well. The email said, ‘Some self assembly required’. Last time I noticed that little sentence was when I got the shoe cabinets and you needed a degree in flatpack assembly. But this time it was just screwing the handles on. Phew. Now dishes and teapots and things I have been unable to find (still in boxes) can be stored. This has to be my blip today - it’s too bloomin’ cold to go out. You can see we’ve still got the (very expensive) wallpaper behind the big painting... And the kitchen is beginning to feel organised.

Yesterday I said I’d bought Topaz Adjust. I meant Topaz ReMask, where you can cut out an object and put it in another background. Great fun. Been watching YouTube videos all morning on how to use it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.