Dame Ruby Bute-legend of the Caribbean

Within an hour of arriving on the island of St Martin we were advised to visit cultural icon Ruby Bute recently made a Lady by the Queen of the Netherlands for her services to the artistic community on the island.

Well, I was a bit nervous about turning up uninvited on the doorstep of a Caribbean legend but I was assured we would be given warm welcome.

And so it proved. Out came the bottle of rum and we were royally received.

Ruby, celebrated poet, writer and artist has the kind of set-up those of us in Europe can dream of in our wildest dreams: an enormous purpose built studio and gallery set in her own vast tropical garden leading to the beach.


Sadly our visit was all too short and we had to return on board. Find out more about Lady Ruby Bute here.




A Woman Who Will Not Bend

From across the ocean I came,
Chained and mistreated
Because of my colour and origin.

I was sold, bought, raped and
Stripped of my sanity,
I have dearly paid for my identity.

The whip stung sharp,
Cutting, cutting into my skin
Soft folds of flesh exposed to the sun crying blood.

Despite the fact that I was chosen
To come this way again, mu freedom to regain,
The pain haunts me still.


(From Floral Bouquets- to the Daughters of Eve by Ruby Bute).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.