Liangge

By Liangge

Yesterday coffee once more?

Traveling by flight, again!

Passed by this airport Costa at least twice and found something interesting - from an quasi-applied linguist point-of-view: why does Costa use the word 'last' which gives one a sense of 'the once' or 'just this once'? People like me travel back and forth so it is 'once or twice' or 'once in a while'. Anyway, liked the Coffee plane image but not the wording.

They could have replaced 'last' with 'good' or some other options. I'm not really keen on coffee. I drink tea more often (remember the tea-leaves egg photo?) but if I'm addicted to coffee, surely I will become a regular customer to Costa or its competitors. But it wouldn't be appealing to me to drink coffee there when I pass by and read this 'slogan'.

Very personal, better interpretations?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.