The Secret World Of Iris

Its been a quiet day punctuated with a very early long walk with Toto and then some shorter ones throughout the day which I am calling 'tree inspections'.

He is getting the lay of the land now and likes to try and take over and direct me where he would like to go, clever chap. He fossicks around under bushes and comes up with old food that I have to wrestle from him grrrr!

We passed a huge bed of iris's with all the flowers finished and every plant had seed heads. I picked a few of the brown dried ones and one green one.

When I got back I played around with the dried ones with the macro. They are really pale pods and quite beautiful and the seeds are dark red, wrinkled and dry and make a rustling sound in the pod. When the seeds drop out there are a lovely series of indents where they first began in a long row. I'm saving these and might blip the pods and seeds another day.

Then I tackled this green one. I had to peck at the end to get it open as it was quite tough and well sealed. But oh my surprise to find these beautiful seeds inside, so rich in colour and full of promise!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.