MonoMonday:china

Years ago when I was at art school a friend and fellow artist made many of these small rectangles to put together and make a larger work for an exhibition. She had been collecting shards of old china from very old rubbish dumps and wanted to use them as a metaphor for memory.

The rectangles were covered in thick liquidised porcelain, sprinkled with the shards and then allowed to dry and crack.

The result was the most amazing and beautiful artwork, so exquisite and extremely delicate! After the exhibition the pieces were sold and because I helped her pour the porcelain she gave me this one! It's one of my most treasured objects and I've had to keep it in cotton wool in a box all these years because it's so fragile!

Thanks to JoanneInOz for taking over the hosting of MonoMonday :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.