DECLUTTERING

Declutter - meaning : to remove unnecessary items from (an untidy or overcrowded place)

Whilst Mr. HCB was watching his team play football on TV, I went upstairs to sort out some books intending to send them to a charity shop but ended up "dipping into" many of them, as I have been asked to lead worship for the first part of our Church Meeting on Thursday evening.

How can I possibly get rid of any of these books which have been part of my life for such a long time, many of which hold so many memories, not only of those who gave them to me, but also the difficult and also the happy times that I've been through. The very small book in the middle is inscribed "To John from Gran" and is The Book of Common Prayer, so I doubt Mr. HCB would want to get rid of that!

So - no decluttering was done today - perhaps tomorrow but we all know that saying "Tomorrow never comes"!

I take off my hat to Creative Carol who faithfully decluttered for 30 days - any chance you could come and stay with us for a month, Carol?

I came across the Ten Commandments for Decluttering written by Patty MacPherson:

1. Thou shalt handle it once. i.e., deal with the item right away.
2. Thou shalt put away stuff in its designated place (if you don’t have one, make one).
3. Thou shalt use labels.
4. Thou shalt know that there are only two options: less stuff or more storage.
5. Thou shalt know that it didn’'t get like this overnight
.....and it’s not going to get fixed overnight.
6. Thou shalt write things down.
7. Thou shalt keep in mind that just because you have it,
.....doesn’'t mean you have to use it.
8. Thou shalt be discriminate with printed material.
9. Thou shalt be charitable by donating and, by doing so, be decluttered.
10. Thou shalt use, display or store important items with respect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.