SURPRISED BY JOY!

What a joy to go out into the garden and see my Clematis Macropetala Wisley Cream with buds and even flowers.

I never know when to prune Clematis so tend to leave them and then when they get too big, just take the shears to them - probably not the right thing to do and good gardeners would be horrified, I'm sure, but it seems to work in our garden!

Plants get two chances - if they don't bloom, then we prune them hard and if they still don't bloom, they are dug out and put on the compost heap.

Reminded me of the passage in John's gospel, which has quite a lot to say about pruning:

Jesus said:
I am the true vine, and my Father is the gardener.
He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit,
while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes
so that it will be even more fruitful.
If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit;
apart from me you can do nothing.
John 15 : 1-2, 5


I know there is a great deal of pruning (and even decluttering) that needs doing in my life - am I willing to let it be done though, that is the question? As you all know, I am not good at decluttering, but if someone else came along, perhaps they would do a better job than I!

Thank you for all your lovely comments, stars and hearts in the last couple of days - I did try and respond to most comments yesterday, and also commented on most of my subs, but am now feeling the effects of doing a lot of typing, so will try and be sensible this week and therefore will not be commenting as much, but I will still enjoy your journals and give stars and hearts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.