JDLanz Schorschi - A Bulldog Road Blip

Title won't mean much except to Bavarian residents but it comes from a wonderful series Bavarian Television did of a not so young pair from very rural Lower Bavaria of their trip on a 1937 Lanz Bulldog (tractor) towing a small caravan to an oldtimer meeting in Northern Italy near Venice (about 700km).

If you have the time, take a look at this preview clip on Youtube. Most non Bavarian but German speakers will perhaps understand 2 or 3 words. The highlight for us was them seeing the sea for the first time in their lives. DVD at 10.00 Euros a snap, and I think available on Amazon.

Anyway back to me! Today I had to make the journey of a lifetime to Hofs near Ottobeuren to take my John Deere-Lanz to the workshop. Never been so far with it ever! 9.3km done in 12 minutes by car. Took me a bit longer. Stopped halfway for a break overlooking Ottobeuren where I took the Blip.

This morning started off spectacularly as Angie showed on her Blip. I had consulted with the mechanic Jürgen about the drive - no problem he said, it was going to stay a great warm, dry, sunny day. As I set off, the wind took up, the rain started. I spent most of the trip holding one hand in front of my face to protect myself as much as possible!

However we made it and the JD-Lanz didn't stutter for a single second. The old gal (1965) did a great job. She is a real JD-Lanz and has the plate on the motor to prove it. John Deere bought Lanz in 1956 and for a time combined the names. I think my model was one of the last to bear it. In the Blip, she's not looking her best with the engine cowling removed.

She'll now be away for a few weeks as Jürgen will try to get her through the German MOT (TÜV) which ran out 2 years ago. That doesn't happen until 20th Feb. so hope ´spring doesn't come so quickly that I need to cut the grass!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.