intothehills

By intothehills

Why join a club?

Today was my first trip out with the Lancashire Mountaineering Club. I'm also a member of my local club - Kendal. I've been asked why an outdoor instructor would join a club - the clubs hobby is what I do most days of the week - what benefit can a club offer me - or indeed anyone?
Well for me its nice to have an opportunity to give something back - and clubs have a vital role in bringing people into outdoor pursuits - Lancashire has a really strong ethos of passing on skills & I've already volunteered to be one of their coaches. It's also nice to be able to relax with people who aren't clients - I'm happy to ensure people are safe & (hopefully) having fun - but it's a much more relaxed approach for my days off. & of course finally - its always good to spend time with like minded people - however much you've done - other peoples experience is always great to learn from, to listen to and be enriched by.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.