Cabbagetree

By cabbagetree

Hiding

Song Thrush Turdus philomelos

The thrush chicks fledged several days ago- I'm not sure when. There are three of them and they have been among the bushes at the edges of the front lawn. I often surprise them as I walk around the corner. They flutter and scatter so fast I hardly see them. But this morning I caught one perched in the apple tree. It just sat there, puffed up, preening itself and occasionally peeping.

The blackbirds (Turdus merula) also have three fledged chicks, which are mostly just beyond the main lawn. They keep a watch out for the cat. She can't do her rounds without being harassed, and she often comes tearing to the house pursued by a loudly scolding blackbird. Poor little puss is getting quite nervy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.