Liangge

By Liangge

Next stop, rainbow

Wanted to catch a bus to the University but missed it - the time table actually shows its irregular intervals of arrival that I mistook as the same every half an hour mode. It showered in the time so I was kept at the rarely used bus stop beside Campbell Park. The other bus going to a local centre actually didn't show up at all!

It was not worth going across the park back to my flat and come out again, even I had an umbrella. So this would mean something special for me - aha, in the last 5 minutes the clouds broke and golden rays shined back to the earth and I predicted that I would see a rainbow - I did, and there were two, actually, one strong and clear and the other weak and vague. But they were there. I always feel amazed at the natural beauty each time I saw it. I used to see double rainbows on campus some years ago.

A friend of mine who plays music used to sing a song titled 'Next stop, Rainbow'. I find it much resembles what I feel in general. OK, here's the lyrics and I copy my own brief translation.

下一站,彩虹桥 Next stop, the Rainbow Bridge
词曲:晏卿 演唱:晏卿 Lyrics/song by Qing Yan

车窗外的天空 Outside the coach window
呈现一抹绚烂的颜色 I saw a beam of golden ray
想起了小时候外婆教我唱的一首歌 Which brought back the melody my grandma used to sing to me

背着书包的孩子 A kid with a school bag on his back
彩虹桥上经过 Was crossing a rainbow
伸手就能触摸 He stretched his arms
洁白的云朵 And he reached the pure white clouds

长大以后的我 When I grew up
不再唱那首歌 I no longer sang this song
看惯了窗外的风景 ’Cos I became so used to the scenes outside the window
习惯了简单的生活 as much as to my simple life
背着行囊的少年 A teenager with his rucksack on his back
彩虹桥上经过 Sitting in the coach passing across the rainbow
却依然是一个孤单的乘客 Was still a lonely passenger


路走得再长 I believe I can walk
长不过我的鞋 and my journey can be as long as my footprints reach
梦飞得再远远不过天边 I believe I can fly, as far as to the side of the sky
七彩的梦幻 Oh, my splendid dream
深藏在我的心间 Deep and high in my heart
这一秒真的就在我面前 Finally it shines in front of my eyes

我仿佛听见他们说 I hear as if someone’s saying
下一站彩虹桥 The next stop is the Rainbow Bridge
背书包的孩子准备好 All kids get ready
去往各自的城堡 Off you’ll go to your castles
手中紧握的单程票 Clutching the one-way ticket
下一站彩虹桥 I know the next stop is Rainbow
云开雾散了 Seeing off the mists and clouds
原来是如此美好 I find my world such a wonder

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.