A Giraffe Loose in Auld Reekie...

What a weird day, went out the office at lunchtime and came head to head, or rather head to belly with a giraffe. This was an opportunity not to be missed so I managed to get a photo of EcoDad with it. Thank you Eco for being my willing model and daring to come so close to a wild animal especially out of it's natural habitat.

You may have noticed that I've gone the full week on giraffes (they're everywhere by the way!) and I'm not sure why other than I liked the image created by my son of the giraffe post mortem. It's still my favourite of the 5 with more originality that I could ever muster but then I guess that comes with being new to world as he is.

I'll leave you with another wee giraffe factoid or two. Giraffes when born drop about 6 feet to the ground and are one of the few animals born with horns. It took my son about a year to learn to walk properly. Baby giraffes nail this in about an hour. Lastly, historically, giraffes were thought to be mute and Whilst generally quiet, recent research has shown that they bleat, grunt, snort, and communicate at an infrasound level.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

On a related note, there was a wee traffic situation the other day. A policeman was stopped at a traffic lights in town. A car pulled up beside him but the policeman was aware of a bit of noise coming from the rear of the car. Having suspicions and curiosity arisen, he stopped the driver and him to pull in at the side. He asked him to open the boot (trunk) and to his surprise, there were 4 giraffes in there running about.

"What's going on here? Take them to the zoo straight away." the policeman ordered.

"Sorry officer, no problem, I'll go straight there." the man replied.

The next day, same traffic lights, coincidentally, the same man pulls up beside him, again, same loud noise coming from the back.

He pulls him over again and gets him to open the boot.

This time he wasn't as surprised but it was the same 4 giraffes but with sunglasses on.

"I thought I told you to take them to the zoo sir." The policeman enquired.

"I did," the man replied, "but they want to go to the beach today!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.