From a Queen to a King

Slow Synch Flash

I think I understand how and where the slow synch flash might be useful but I’m not at a disco or a wedding reception dance, I don’t have a stunning sunset behind me I want to expose properly and I’m not trying to freeze some action at a sports event.

I need to do an indoor shot so I settle for cards and a bit of sleight of hand. This is one single image and no Photoshop is involved.

There was a lot of trial and error involved in this. I needed quite a long shutter speed but I also needed to be in the light or the “ghosts” don’t work. I resorted eventually to using an ND filter to get the exposure more or less correct.

I think this might have been the most difficult technique so far but more because I’m probably not using it for the purpose it works best for. Normally we would want to take a particular image so we would choose the particular technique to give the best results. Doing it the other way round and using a particular image to demonstrate a technique can sometimes be a bit tricky.

Igor’s complaining of RSI in his now overused wrist. thank you as always trusty assistant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.