Bokeh - L is for Light

Bokeh has been defined as "the way the lens renders out-of-focus points of light”.
Wikipedia

This morning I transformed Igor’s garage into an intimate dinner venue for the purpose of demonstrating how bokeh works. The lights are lots of candles and a Christmas tree (wasn’t expecting to get that out of the loft so soon!!). The sparkling burgundy is our tipple for this coming Friday evening.

I used my largest possible aperture f1.8 and set up the wine and glasses as far in front of the candles as possible. I lit the bottle with a torch just to the side of it and then focussed manually on the label.

The fact that everything on the camera was set manually is possibly an indication of how much confidence the technique challenge has given me (it may not last but I’ll enjoy it while it does).

L is for Light

B&W Version

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.