Snowdrops

I picked up Helena as usual after her job finished early this afternoon and we drove to the next door town for our dose of further education. Helena has been attending classes with our lecturer Alan for several terms, but this was only my third one. I have enjoyed it very much with the subject being the world of the impressionist painters in Paris between 1865 and 1890, so far. Today we discussed Emile Zola's depiction of this period in his novel 'L'Assomoir', and the similar scenes as depicted by his painting friends who shared the same cafes, and streets as he did. Edgar Degas, Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec, Suzanne Valadon and several others. Alan makes it so interesting with his use of the painting s to illustrate his themes.

When we left the village hall in Stonehouse where the class meets, I spotted these snowdrops in the hall's small flower beds and while Helena said goodbye to some friends are grabbed a quick picture. I was trying to convey a swathe of snowdrops but this is all I achieved, and not very well focused. We shall have to go to our usual woodland scenes of wild snowdrops near Cherington lake, I think, possibly this weekend. Meanwhile a cup of tea and some coffee and walnut cake have my name on them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.