CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A blackbird pecking a worm

I just happened to look outside the rear patio doors while waiting for my coffee to percolate (I do love that word and the coffee it produces).  As I gazed a thrush landed on a branch of the nearest tree from which many birds prepare their flight path in order to alight on the nearest bird feeder.  The thrush can't manage that, but maybe it looks on in envy. Blackbirds however have learnt that there is a lot of 'fall out' of sunflower seeds from our feeders on to the concrete below, and they come pecking quite regularly.  

I went upstairs to grab my camera, changed the lens to the borrowed zoom which I have to give back soon and slowly moved towards the window.  The thrush didn't move although it seemed to be looking in my direction and they usually very wary.  But it was too fa away to get any good shots especially through the double-glazed sliding doors.  A sudden movement in the garden disturbed it finally, probably a stalking cat.  But I waited a couple of minutes as there were many other birds around.  

Then a pair of blackbirds, male and female, alighted on the leafless clematis twined around some poles and looked at the floor.  Then the female diced to the ground out of my sight for a few minutes.  I moved closer to try and look down at the ground which is at a level about four feet lower than the floor of the room.  I saw it pecking at the ground and I zoomed in to the rather shady floor area.

I saw it looking at this large worm which it intermittently pecked at, picked it up and then dropped it again.  I don't know why it didn't swallow it but the worm was still moving.  I grabbed this shot and then the blackbirds were both disturbed again and flew away.  they didn't return and the worm was left there wriggling on the concrete.  I went out after a couple of minutes when I realised the birds weren't returning and picked the worm up and put it in some soil in a large pot outside the back door.  It probably won't survive but at least it has a chance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.