Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

Snow on the hills above Kilbirnie

I spent the afternoon with a friend that I have known since 1977. She is now 84, so she is old in both senses of the word. I drove home reflecting on the value of our friendship. She knows all my foibles and ridiculous mistakes but loves me still the same. We had a good giggle, a lovely reminisce and also - and this is always the best bit - we talked about where we are both coming from at the moment, what we are both thinking about life. We were rejoicing that we know such a diverse range of people and that, now that we are both older, we accept difference more readily. She's deaf in one ear, forgets stuff and loses her house key, but she is one of the truly young people I know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.