Settled Down for a Long Winter's Nap

We planted the last of our spring bulbs today. I hope they fare better than our tomatoes did this year. I finally admitted defeat earlier this week and pulled all 47 tomato vines and left them to rest with the rotting green tomatoes on the ground. (I should've pulled them a month ago, really, but I just couldn't bring myself to do it after all the work I put into cultivating them.) It was an awful year. With all the rain over the summer, early blight struck and I got only three (no exaggeration) edible tomatoes after such a hope-filled start.

We've put our gardening tools and Dora the Explorer gardening gloves away for the last time this year, but we've put the garden to bed with great hopes for next spring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.