Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By cdsvfdcs

Reflections

Out the window of the Seattle Art Museum on a very rainy night.....at the opening to a new Miró exhibition. I sometimes like to go to these to hear the visiting curator talk. Tonight the curator of sculpture from the Museo National Centro de Arte Reina Sophia in Madrid spoke - in Spanish- with much too abbreviated translation. There was good Spanish food and Flamenco dancers and music. It’s a good time to see the work as that part of the museum is not that crowded, and there was a new electronic information section that H and I tried to work and made the screen go black. Sorry, Microsoft. So the information left a bit to be desired but the sculptures, particularly, are wonderful. I can do without the celebration part. Too many "beautiful people".

Much more comfortable with my book club this afternoon, discussing “The Orchardist” by Amanda Coplin. I read it when it came out in 2012 and enjoyed it even more the second time around. (Had to reread because that’s too long ago or me to remember!) A quiet novel of what it was like around 1900 to live and work an orchard in Eastern Washington. The characters are all introverts (maybe that’s why I relate so well) and the landscape takes over as a principal character in this drama about grief, life and death, family, solitude, and change. Here’s a pretty good concise review and summary better than anything I could do -if you are interested.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.