Living in Brabant

By AilsaR

All you need is love

After work today I met up with a number of other volunteers to clean out Spekkie and Vlekkie's sty.

Since they were sent to slaughter at the beginning of December last year, their run has been untouched. After their demise, two wooden crucifixes, a poem, and a teddy bear and a heart-shaped cushion were placed in their run.

It felt a little strange being there again, this time without them charging up to you, squealing excitedly in anticipation of food.

The place is really muddy now, and today was not a good time to discover a hole in my wellies!
My feet were freezing when I got back home, good job I went to the gym after dinner to warm up!

There are rumours that a new urban pig project may start again in Spring. This time though, the pigs would not be sent to slaughter, but kept to live out their days wallowing in mud and eating.

I hope so, it bought a lot of smiles to lots of faces, made complete strangers chat to one another, and livened up a small recreation area.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.