Not just letters home

By haylo53

Iced tea for three... plus 2

There's a cafe in front of the bus stop I go to when it's raining and I can't be arsed to cycle I need to take the bus. I've never really looked at it until today when I missed the bus and had some time to kill, so I took the opportunity to poke around in the window and take a few shots. Turns out, they have some pretty nice-sounding iced teas! They also have an interesting alleged history of the bagel in their window. Apparently, the bagel was invented back in the 1600s by a baker who wanted to honour King John III Sobieski, a monarch of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth. Yeah yeah, it sounds really romantic, but unfortunately this story runs contrary to everything I learned in my upbringing, which was basically that the bagel was invented in Montreal sometime around 1968. So... definite contentious issue there. Not that I'm biased or anything!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.