RFK Triborough Bridge

I started a new painting at Open Studio today. It is an oil painting, 22 by 28 inches in size. As I often do, I used Venetian red and gold gesso to create an under painting that already had the dark-light passages. I am still in the beginning as I build up the painting from this beginning stage. I have much more to do but want to keep the fresh feeling it has now. This is the thing I am working on this year.

The source of this painting was a photo I took from the train from Boston to Manhattan when we visited the East Coast last spring. I took the photo the same day I took this one. It was raining and the window of the train was covered in raindrops.

I had planned to paint another desert painting but as I went through the photos on my iPad I came across this one and it just spoke to me. I even went ahead and looked at some desert photos. But then I thought, " if this speaks so loudly to me, I should listen." So I am on my way. It could turn into a new series of urban landscape paintings. I'd like that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.