Look and learn

My body, more specifically my right index finger and hand have battled poisoning from manky of cat fangs today. Yesterday tells the story.

This morning I felt pretty awful and work was out of the question. Being right handed it wasn't easy to trace a mark around the spreading redness to track its progress but my home help traced it for me.

By mid-afternoon I wondered if I might be holding my own and the antibiotics were starting to win the fight but it was hard to tell. By late afternoon the fisher/hunter suggested I go with him to a seminar on the Waimakariri River (edge of Christchurch) where he could keep track of the pen marks and take me back to the doc if needed.

Why not? May as well be somewhere else with other people, rather than at home watching the redness and wondering if it's creeping towards my wrist.

For a brief time I sat in camp chair surrounded by blokes in their waders all concentration as a talented young bloke demonstrated the art of Spey fishing, a type of fly fishing with its own technique and equipment, that originates from the River Spey in Scotland.

Then I hobbled back to the truck with my various broken/infected bits, a fine sight I can tell you ;-)

I wasn't taking much in but I did sneak a few pictures of the surrounding male concentration.

The deteriorating weather cut things short. We headed home and decided by mid-evening that the redness had slightly decreased from the last pen marks on my hand.

Yay! I'm winning :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.