Leichardt Town Hall

This blip is an idea I have blatantly stolen from OzGeoff. For some reason I had never really taken much notice of this building before Geoff shot his picture. It looked so fetching, I knew I'd need to check it out for myself eventually. Anyway we were in Leichardt today - sometimes known as Sydney's "Little Italy". Let me tell you. It IS possible to get a pretty fair cappuccino in these here parts. Lunch at one of the Italian Forum's restaurants was pretty good too.

Leichhardt Town Hall itself was completed in the centenary year of 1888, making it now some 125 years old. Designed by architects, Drake and Walcott, in the "Victorian Free Classical" style it was officially opened the same year. The site of the town hall is the highest west of Sydney between Martin Place in the city centre and the Blue Mountains.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.